Curriculum as Productive of Teachers and Learners

Photo Credit: R Joanne via Compfight cc

After reading Kumashiro’s textbook “Against Common Sense” Part 1 and Chapter 1, I was introduced to 3 different types of teachers education programs produce:

1. Learned Practitioners- are taught about their students and how they learn, they major of study, and how to teach

2. Researcher- ongoing learners, always continuing to grow

3. Professionals- study and learn to make teaching a professional career

As I reflect on my pre-service teaching experience and the learning I’m acquiring while at the University of Regina I have concluded I am a mixture of all 3. Based on my experience and teaching program I understand and value the teachings related to the learned practitioner. To teach your students, it is very crucial to know them, how they learn, and feel confident in the classroom as well as with your material. Also, the program I’m in teaches about the benefits of professional development (which corresponds to the idea of the researcher). Knowledge is always changing and, because of this, it’s important to always stay on top of new research and studies that will help in the learning of students. With regards to the idea of a professional teacher, I do believe it is the responsibility of the teacher to follow the Saskatchewan Teacher’s Federation because teacher’s have such strong influence on today’s youth.

An important note from doing these readings is that no matter what type of teacher you are, you will always have oppressive and anti-oppressive techniques present. Kumashiro explains that the important thing is to always be reflecting on one’s teaching practice and understand where oppression takes place. The goal in my teaching career is to understand and continue to learn about oppressive practices as well as work towards limiting the amount of oppression that takes place

3 thoughts on “Curriculum as Productive of Teachers and Learners

  1. Love your blog article! I especially love your closing remarks about how you desire to be an oppressive teacher that is cognisant of all three of these teacher types. One thing I would invite you to consider is whether or not your teaching type will change once you are actually in the field on your own. You’ve concluded that right now, you are a mixture of researcher, professional and learned practitioner, but do you think this may shift in the future?
    Thanks, Samm

  2. I believe my teaching type will probably change all throughout my career. Depending on my experience and situation I’m in, I think I would adapt to fit certain needs. My guess is when I first start teaching my philosophy may shift to the learned practitioner to get to know my students better, but after a while I would like to see myself balance between all 3. Great question!

  3. Pingback: Community of Learning | Teaching Blog

Leave a Reply

